Q&A: Zenon – Arven (2023, Self-Released)

There is a warm, natural feel about Arven, the second album by Norwegian folky fuzz rock band Zenon. It warms up the soul in a similar way as Wolf People used to do, or Graveyard and Witchcraft at their most jazzy pastoral and still versions of themselves. It is definitely rock ‘n roll, but there is just a little more depth to it than with most others. The beautiful interchanging of voices between lovers Filip Zenon Ramberg and Michelle Uller adds a dash of magic that makes it a record worthy of playing repeatedly this year. Weirdo Shrine may be no more, but we could not let this interview slip…

Hi guys, can you please introduce your band to the Weirdo Shrine audience?

Filip: We are Zenon, a Norwegian rock band led by me, Filip Zenon Ramberg

On December 1st we are releasing our second album, ”Arven”, following the debut “Passasje” from 2021. Musically, trying to write for the present day and age, but also proud of our roots in the underground rock music of the 1970s, as well as our love and respect for jazz and traditional folk music. The music and lyrics are written by me, I also do most of the instruments in the studio, except bass – expertly handled by Martin van Houtum, and vocals – by my wife to be Michelle Uller.  On the live dates, we expand to a quartet with me on drums, and Håkon Oftung from Jordsjø joining us on guitar. 

What is the biggest trigger for you to do what you do with this band?

Filip: There is a certain truth in all the best music I know. A certain “something” which can move me and make me feel alive. To question and wonder. My aspiration is to write this type of music.

What are your musical backgrounds? And what was the first time you knew you wanted to play rock music?

Martin: I vividly remember my first proper music experience. That would be my dad playing The Beastie Boys’ “Paul’s Boutique” cassette on the car stereo. I was maybe five or so years old, and it just blew my tiny little mind. I had no concept of rock music in particular, or any other genre, but I knew music was going to be an integral part of my life forever. I started playing the guitar a little while later, but didn’t really stick with it – until picking it up again years later, somewhere in my early teens. By then I had discovered 60’s music, and so my fate was pretty much sealed… Eventually I started learning other instruments too. Nowadays I mostly enjoy songwriting, music production and playing the piano. It’s ever changing. 

Michelle: Growing up I played the saxophone in the local marching band for five years. Hated the marching, but loved playing concerts. I never learned reading music properly, so I mostly listened a lot, committed the melody to memory and then played the songs by ear. In my teens I also did some singing at school events and talent competitions. That’s how Filip and I met, actually – a county talent competition for teens. (I also watched Yellow Submarine almost every day when I was a toddler!)

Filip: I was drawn to music from very early on, but at around 13 there was the definite conviction that ”I can do it!”. 

What music do you listen to in the band bus? Any weird tastes among you?

Filip: Actually most of my music listening is very private. Ideally I’m lying on the floor by my record shelves with headphones. Then it all depends on the mood. Ideal band bus mood is focused and positive, not too chatty. In a sense it is the building up of a certain energy for the gig. So any music that is not too demanding or too simple would be a good fit. Weird tastes: … I do listen to a lot of old traditional folk music and religious ceremony music from all around the globe. Much of that music has a different tonality, sometimes odd meters, and certain – let’s say – connotations, all of which puts people off, which I perfectly understand, as it took me years to appreciate. However, just like free jazz, when it finally makes sense, its the only thing you want to listen to. 

Martin: These days, I mostly listen to either ambient / minimalism, or the greatest band of all time, The Beach Boys. There are many, many exceptions from this though, and especially electronic music is a field I’m delving deeper and deeper into now. Or Congolese rhumba, 50’s exotica, gamelan, etc. etc… I will, however, blast Close to the Edge any day, easily. Weird tastes: I admit to owning a Whitney Houston album, and even playing it occasionally.

Michelle: In my opinion you can never go wrong with the greats: The Beatles, David Bowie, Queen, Neil Young, Joni Mitchell, Prince, Radiohead, the list goes on. I do have a sweet spot for Francoise Hardy and Jacques Dutronc as well (the coolest couple in music!). Weird tastes? I am a die hard fan of one of Japan’s biggest ever boy bands, Arashi.

What would be the ideal line up for the ultimate live show, and where would it be held?

Martin: I would pay top dollar to experience a drum/harp duo of Jaki Liebezeit and Alice Coltrane – preferably in my back yard (for convenience).

Michelle: I’ll give you a 180 on this instead: I’d much rather have a time machine so I could go back to Queen‘s Christmas Eve concert at the Hammersmith Odeon in London in 1975.

Filip: The classic Coltrane quartet at the peak of their powers, possibly the night when the ”Live at the Half Note” album was recorded, which I think was spring 1965. Could we move that to spring 2024 and three tickets reserved in the front row, please. 

What is the best thing that happened to the band so far, and would would you still like to happen in the future?

Michelle: I love that Filip invited Martin and me to join him for his second album – Filip and Martin have known each other and played in bands and projects together over the last 20 years, and we’ve all kind of grown up together. Being able to contribute on this album, with people one loves so dearly, is really magical. Also, we’ll play some gigs in early 2024 – can’t wait! 

Where do you live and how does it influence your music?

Michelle: Filip and I and our baby daughter live in a lovely little house between a big forest and a big fjord. It gives us an immense peace looking out at the fjord, and I guess it somehow inspire us to make something that’s real and organic. I know nature is very present in Filip’s music and in influencing him when he writes.

Martin: I live in an apartment centrally in Oslo. I guess the proximity and wide selection of record shops, instrument shops and concert venues allows me to indulge in music in a very hands-on, practical sense. As for inspiration, Oslo is surrounded by a myriad of forest hike trails, which for me is an excellent way to catch a breath and mentally work out whatever song arrangement I’m currently working on.

What is/was the best era of (rock n roll) music in your opinion?

Filip: Obviously the 60s and 70s was a very special time in the world which was reflected in the art of that era including music. 

Martin: An ever changing answer – but today, I want to say early instrumental surf music, spearheaded by Dick Dale and the like. The sound of a stratocaster + spring reverb + maxed out showman amp is just out of this world.

Michelle: 1964–1975.

Where can we see the band play in the near future? Any other plans/schemes you’d like to share?

There will be a short concert tour with concerts in Norway in January-February 2024. I hope that we will be able to have one or two annual tours in the years to come. Eventually, gigs abroad will hopefully become a possibility. 

Then, the writing, rehearsing and recording of the third album in what I believe is turning into a trilogy; I have made the first important step, which was to have a dream in which I was shown the cover art, by myself, oddly enough.  

What should the Weirdo Shrine readers do immediately after reading this interview?

I hope the readers will follow us on our Instagram https://www.instagram.com/zenonmusikk/ where there will be more information and eventually some music as the release date approaches. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started